Saturday, 23 February 2013

PDC UK Masters Qualifier

THREE-TIME World Champion John Part was among the 24 qualifiers for the UK Masters, the PDC's first European Tour event of 2013, which will be held at the Butlins Minehead Resort, next month.

A total of 112 professionals took part in Friday’s UK Qualifier at the K2 Centre in Crawley, which saw a host of youngsters, including Michael Smith, Arron Monk, Reece Robinson and Adam Hunt, book their places in the UK Masters. Canadian legend Part started the evening well by breezing past Steve Hine with a whitewash victory before overcoming Mark Jones with a 6-4 triumph to qualify.
Arron Monk secured his spot thanks to a narrow 6-5 victory over Essex’s Michael Barnard as did Reece Robinson, who saw off Prakash Jiwa in a deciding-leg.

Northern Ireland’s Daryl Gurney, who secured a Pro Tour Card last month after impressing at the 2013 World Darts Championship, secured his qualification thanks to a 6-3 triumph over Matt Clark, as did fellow Tour Card holder Kevin McDine, who overcame Steve Grubb by a 6-1 scoreline. Republic of Ireland’s Keith Rooney qualified thanks to a 6-3 victory over two-time World Champion Ted Hankey, whilst Andy Pearce denied Yorkshire’s Dean Winstanley a place in the main draw by taking the deciding-leg in their encounter.

Steve West came through to qualify thanks to a 6-5 victory over David Copley, and he was joined by his brother Tony, who edged out Ryan Harrington by the same scoreline.
 Alan Tabern enjoyed a good evening at the K2 Centre as he defeated Josh Payne 6-1 to confirm his place as did Brian Woods and Scotland’s John Henderson who overcame Mark Hylton and Gaz Cousins by the same margin.

Darren Webster and Stuart Kellett, who competed at the 2013 World Championships, successfully booked their places in the main draw, along with Nigel Heydon who defeated the highly rated Welsh youngster Jamie Lewis. Simon Craven, Paul Rowley, Dave Pallett, Jim Walker, Ross Smith, Dave Honey and Ian Moss completed the line-up of qualifiers who will travel to the Bultins Minehead Resort, next month.

Tonight’s 24 qualifiers will now join eight European qualifiers plus the top 32 from the One-Year Rolling Pro Tour Order of Merit in the first round draw of the UK Masters.

The first European Tour event of the year will be held from March 8-10, and is scheduled to feature the likes of 16-times World Champion Phil Taylor, along with Adrian Lewis, James Wade and sensational Dutch youngster, Michael van Gerwen.

UK Masters - European Tour Event One

UK Qualifier - K2 Centre, Crawley

Friday February 22

Preliminary Round

Simon Craven 6-2 James Richardson
Mike Norton 6-3 Terry Temple
David Pallett 6-1 Lee Hayes
Michael Barnard 6-1 Steve Maish
Andy Jenkins 6-0 Lee Moffatt
Peter Hudson 6-2 Johnny Haines
Mark Stephenson 6-1 Joe Cullen
Richie Howson 6-4 Mark Lawrence
Jake Patchett 6-3 Mark Forman
Mark Jones 6-2 Joe Bata
Geoff Whitworth 6-1 Sam Hill
William O'Connor 6-2 Craig Pope
Mick Todd 6-5 Jon Dukes
Darren Webster 6-3 Matthew Dicken
Chris Aubrey 6-4 Anthony Littleton
Darren Johnson 6-3 Adrian Gray

First Round
Stephen Hardy 3-6 Adam Hunt
Jamie Robinson 6-0 Steve Randall
Joe Murnan 6-2 Jonathan Worsley
Simon Craven 6-2 Mike Norton
Paul Rowley 6-5 Scott Coleman
Gareth Pass 6-4 Michael Blake
Dave Ladley 6-3 Glen Miller
David Pallett 6-2 Paul Amos
Gaz Cousins 6-3 Denis Ovens
John Henderson 6-5 Steve Brown
Arron Monk 6-5 Connie Finnan
Michael Barnard 6-4 Paul Barham
Josh Payne 6-5 Ewan Hyslop
Alan Tabern 6-3 John Scott
Jim Walker 6-1 Ricky Evans
Peter Hudson 6-3 Andy Jenkins
Nigel Heydon 6-1 Daniel Day
Jamie Lewis 6-0 Neville Roberts
Ted Hankey 6-5 Wayne Atwood
Keith Rooney 6-1 Mark Stephenson
Ross Smith 6-0 Barrie Bates
Shaun Griffiths 6-3 Campbell Jackson
Stuart Kellett 6-2 Darren Whittingham
Kevin Thomas 6-4 Richie Howson
Michael Smith 6-2 Nathan Richards
Matthew Edgar 6-1 Martin Perring
John Part 6-0 Steve Hine
Mark Jones 6-5 Jake Patchett
Terry Hayes 6-5 Nick Fullwell
Dave Honey 6-3 Damien Sherwood
Steve Grubb 6-3 Mark Cox
Kevin McDine 6-3 Geoff Whitworth
Daryl Gurney 6-0 Daniel Starkey
Matt Clark 6-5 Mark Dudbridge
Ian Moss 6-4 Jack Tweddell
William O'Connor 6-2 Carl Evans
Steve West 6-2 Stuart White
David Copley 6-4 Andrew Gilding
John Bowles 6-5 Joey Palfreyman
Darren Webster 6-2 Mick Todd
Tony West 6-2 Ross Lowe
Ryan Harrington 6-3 Dennis Smith
Prakash Jiwa 6-5 Scott Rand
Reece Robinson 6-2 Chris Aubrey
Dean Winstanley 6-3 Michael Mansell
Andy Pearce 6-4 Kevin Dowling
Mark Hylton 6-3 Peter Manley
Brian Woods 6-4 Darren Johnson

Second Round
Adam Hunt 6-4 Jamie Robinson
Simon Craven 6-4 Joe Murnan
Paul Rowley 6-5 Gareth Pass
David Pallett 6-3 Dave Ladley
John Henderson 6-1 Gaz Cousins
Arron Monk 6-5 Michael Barnard
Alan Tabern 6-1 Josh Payne
Jim Walker 6-3 Peter Hudson
Nigel Heydon 6-1 Jamie Lewis
Keith Rooney 6-3 Ted Hankey
Ross Smith 6-4 Shaun Griffiths
Stuart Kellett 6-4 Kevin Thomas
Michael Smith 6-5 Matthew Edgar
John Part 6-4 Mark Jones
Dave Honey 6-1 Terry Hayes
Kevin McDine 6-1 Steve Grubb
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Matt Clark
Ian Moss 6-5 William O'Connor
Steve West 6-5 David Copley
Darren Webster 6-4 John Bowles
Tony West 6-5 Ryan Harrington
Reece Robinson 6-5 Prakash Jiwa
Andy Pearce 6-5 Dean Winstanley
Brian Woods 6-1 Mark Hylton


 Adam Hunt
Simon Craven
Paul Rowley
David Pallett
John Henderson
Arron Monk
Alan Tabern
Jim Walker
Nigel Heydon
Keith Rooney
Ross Smith
Stuart Kellett
Michael Smith
John Part
Dave Honey
Kevin McDine
Daryl Gurney
Ian Moss
Steve West
Darren Webster
Tony West
Reece Robinson
Andy Pearce
Brian Woods