Saturday, 23 February 2013

BDO 6 Nations Cup-Day 1

Today saw the Winmau Darts Six Nations Cup 2013 start on the island of Texel. A championship between England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, Northern Ireland and of course the Netherlands. Big names like Lakeside champion Scott Waites, Wesley Harms, Tony 'Silverback' O'Shea, Trina Gulliver and Deta Hedman are all in the Netherlands to fight for their nation.

The program started with the ladies final of the Nations Cup last year between England and Wales. Where in the previous years this was an exciting fight, with England clearly stronger. Known names in the English team are Deta Hedman, Trina Gulliver and Lisa Ashton. They all scored well and eventually won 8-1. The second match for the English ladies was impressive. Winning 9-0 over Northern Ireland. This means that the English ladies themselves as group winners qualified for the semi-finals on Sunday. Wales also qualified for the semifinals with a thrilling game 5-4 to win the Northern Irish ladies.

Netherlands started the tournament against Scotland with Aileen de Graaf , Floortje van Zanten and Lakeside participant Sharon Prince . The orange ladies had a hard time in the opening stage and looked like they were going to lose 5-1 but they didn't give up. They won the last three legs in a row but, unfortunately lost 5-4. The Scottish ladies knew then that they needed to win the second match against Ireland to be group winners. On Sunday they play in the semi-final against Wales. Netherlands won the last match of the evening against Ireland with some brilliant finishes. Sharon Prince hit a 120 finish and Aileen de Graaf took out a 108 finish to win. The Dutch play England on Sunday.

Tomorrow promises to be another great darts spectacle when the men will compete against each other.


Group 1. Wales 1-8 England
Group 2. Netherlands 4-5 Scotland 
Group 1. England 9-0 Northern Ireland 
Group 2. Scotland 6-3 Ireland 
Group 1. Northern Ireland 4-5 Wales 
Group 2. Ireland 1-8 Netherlands 

Semi-Final Draw:

England v Netherlands
Scotland v Wales