Friday, 23 August 2013

PDC Sydney Darts Masters Draws Closer

The Warilla Bowls Club is set to stage four days of action as the remaining places in the Sydney Darts Masters are decided, along with the DPA's 2013 Oceanic Masters champion.

Sunday, Monday and Tuesday will see three separate Sydney Darts Masters Qualifiers held, with the winner on each day progressing to compete at Luna Park.

Online entry for the DPA Qualifiers has now closed, but entries will still be taken between 9-10am on Sunday, Monday and Tuesday, with play commencing at 11am.

All games in the DPA Qualifiers will be the best of 11 legs, with players who do not qualify moving through to play in the next day's knockout.

The final qualifying place in the Sydney Darts Masters will go to the leading non-qualified player from next Wednesday's DPA Oceanic Masters event, which is open to DPA-registered players from Australia and New Zealand who have competed on the Australian Grand Prix circuit this year.

Should this initially be a tie between players who reach the Semi-Finals or Quarter-Finals, an appropriate Play-Off will be organised by the PDC Tournament Director to take place immediately following the conclusion of the Oceanic Masters.

Wednesday will also see the Sydney Darts Masters draw take place at Luna Park, before the tournament is held from Thursday-Sunday, with coverage live on Fox Sports in Australia and worldwide through Sky New Zealand, Fox Asia, OSN Middle East and on the Eurosport Network.

Although the Sydney Darts Masters Qualifiers are open to men and women, each day will also feature a Ladies' event, culminating in the Puma Local Liquor Ladies Oceanic Masters on Wednesday.

The Oceanic Masters champion will qualify to compete in the Ladbrokes World Darts Championship later this year, where they will join AGP Order of Merit winner Kyle Anderson in travelling to London for the Alexandra Palace showpiece.

Further prize money is on offer in the Oceanic Masters as follows:
Winner: $1,000 plus return airfare to London for the Ladbrokes World Darts Championship.

Runner-Up $500
Semi-Finalists $250
Quarter-Finalists $100
Last 16 Losers $50