Friday, 23 August 2013

PDC Championship League Darts

THE field for Championship League Darts will be confirmed following the Players Championship events in Barnsley on September 14 & 15.
The internet-streamed event, won last year by Phil Taylor, features eight eight-player groups who compete at Crondon Park GC in Essex, before the individual Group Winners contest for the title.

Invitations to compete in the tournament are based on ranking positions in the PDC Order of Merit, and will be confirmed following the ProTour weekend in Barnsley next month.

The top eight players will compete in Group One, with the next three players from the rankings entering in each of the subsequent seven groups.

The eight Group Winners then proceed to take part in the big-money Winners Group on Thursday October 24.

Championship League Darts is streamed live through www.LIVEPDC.TV as well as via a series of bookmakers' websites worldwide, with two boards in action simultaneously on each day's play as the players meet once in a round-robin format before the top four contest the semi-finals and final.

2013 Championship League Darts Dates

Group One - Tuesday September 24
Group Two - Wednesday September 25
Group Three - Thursday September 26
Group Four - Tuesday October 15
Group Five - Wednesday October 16
Group Six - Thursday October 17
Group Seven - Tuesday October 22
Group Eight - Wednesday October 23
Winners Group - Thursday October 24

Championship League Darts has been won three times by Phil Taylor, who was the inaugural champion in 2008 and has also won the event in the last two years, defeating Paul Nicholson and Simon Whitlock in those finals.

Colin Osborne was the 2009 winner, with James Wade taking the title the following year.

The innovative event sees prize money paid per leg won throughout the event, with prize money doubling for the Winners Group as well as additional prize money being paid to the eventual champion, runner-up and semi-finalists.