Tuesday, 30 July 2013

PDC German Darts Masters in Sindelfingen- Draw

THE draw for September's German Darts Masters has been made, with Michael van Gerwen set to meet Ricky Evans in the seventh European Tour event's first round.

The year's penultimate European Tour event will take place at the Glaspalast in Sindelfingen from September 20-22, as 64 players compete for £100,000 in prize money.

The top 32 players from the ProTour Order of Merit qualified by right for the event alongside 20 UK Qualifiers from their knockout which was held recently in Barnsley, with the Host Nation Qualifier and European Qualifier to take place on September 19 in Sindelfingen.

European Champion Adrian Lewis, last year's German Darts Masters champion at the venue, will face German opposition in his first round game, with Terry Jenkins, Dave Chisnall and Brendan Dolan also drawn against Host Nation Qualifiers.

Number one seed Michael van Gerwen plays PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship finalist Ricky Evans, while Phil Taylor will take on Northern Ireland's Daryl Gurney.

Simon Whitlock, the number two seed, will play a European Qualifier, with Wes Newton, Mervyn King, Peter Wright, Ian White, Andy Smith, Kevin Painter and Arron Monk also set to face European opposition.

Robert Thornton has drawn European Tour debutant Ted Hankey, while current World Youth Champion Michael Smith - one of the UK Qualifiers - faces Colin Osborne and Colin Lloyd has drawn former World Youth Champion James Hubbard.

World number five James Wade takes on Kevin McDine, Gary Anderson draw Andy Jenkins and Andy Hamilton meets Northern Ireland's Michael Mansell, while Wayne Jones has drawn Ross Smith - who hit a nine-darter in last month's Gibraltar Darts Trophy.

The schedule of play will be announced in due course, with Friday's first round games to be split across two stages at the Glaspalast.

Saturday September 21 sees the second round played across two sessions, with the event culminating on Sunday with the third round in the afternoon session and the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final in the evening session.

The draw was made by PDPA Chief Executive Alan Warriner-Little at the BetVictor World Matchplay in Blackpool.

German Darts Masters
European Tour Event Seven
Glaspalast, Sindelfingen - September 20-22

Michael van Gerwen (1) v Ricky Evans
Wayne Jones (32) v Ross Smith
Andy Hamilton (16) v Michael Mansell
Gary Anderson (17) v Andy Jenkins
Phil Taylor (8) v Daryl Gurney
Colin Lloyd (25) v James Hubbard
Kim Huybrechts (9) v Darren Johnson
Andy Smith (24) v European Qualifier 3
Wes Newton (5) v European Qualifier 2
Arron Monk (28) v European Qualifier 1
Paul Nicholson (12) v Mark Lawrence
James Wade (21) v Kevin McDine
Peter Wright (4) v European Qualifier 7
Mark Walsh (29) v Jamie Robinson
Mervyn King (13) v European Qualifier 8
Ronnie Baxter (20) v Dennis Smith
Simon Whitlock (2) v European Qualifier 6
Colin Osborne (31) v Michael Smith
Raymond van Barneveld (15) v Josh Payne
Stuart Kellett (18) v Alan Tabern
Dave Chisnall (7) v Host Nation Qualifier 3
Justin Pipe (26) v Joe Murnan
Adrian Lewis (10) v Host Nation Qualifier 2
Kevin Painter (23) v European Qualifier 5
Jamie Caven (6) v Steve Brown
Terry Jenkins (27) v Host Nation Qualifier 4
John Part (11) v Paul Amos
Steve Beaton (22) v Mick Todd
Robert Thornton (3) v Ted Hankey
Richie Burnett (30) v William O'Connor
Ian White (14) v European Qualifier 4
Brendan Dolan (19) v Host Nation Qualifier 1