Saturday, 24 May 2014

Gibraltar Darts Trophy- UK Qualifier

JAMES WADE, Wes Newton, Kevin Painter, Mark Webster and former World Youth champions James Hubbard and Michael Smith were amongst the UK Qualifiers for the Gibraltar Darts Trophy. Seven-time major winner Wade defeated Scotland's Mark Barilli and Australia's Kyle Anderson as he secured his place in next month's £100,000 European Tour event at the Victoria Stadium in Gibraltar.

He was joined in qualifying by top-ten rival Wes Newton, who enjoyed wins over Joe Murnan and Campbell Jackson as he progressed to the main event alongside former Players Championship Finals winner Kevin Painter, who saw off Essex duo Jamie Robinson and Steve West.

Welsh duo Mark Webster and Richie Burnett both won through to play in the European Tour event with Webster overcoming Joe Cullen and Paul Amos to qualify as his World Cup team-mate saw off Scott Rand and Jamie Bain.

Denis Ovens enjoyed a welcome qualification as he overcame John Part and James Richardson, while another veteran of the PDC circuit, Mark Walsh, defeated Richie Howson and new PDC Unicorn World Youth Champion Keegan Brown to progress.

While Brown suffered disappointment, two former World Youth Champions did win through, with Michael Smith dropping only two legs in his wins over Steve Brown and Mark Hylton and James Hubbard battling past Peter Hudson, Colin Osborne and Matt Padgett.

Emerging talent Adam Hunt saw off Steve Maish, Mick Todd and Ronnie Baxter to earn his place in Gibraltar, while Dorset's Ben Ward continued his progression on the PDC ProTour with wins over Kevin Thomas, Ricky Evans and William O'Connor.

John Henderson edged out Andy Jenkins 6-5 in their decider, while Bristol's Andy Parsons also went all the way in his defeat of Matthew Edgar, and Matt Clark was an 11-leg winner over Wayne Jones as he qualified.

Swindon's Johnny Haines knocked out Paul Nicholson to qualify, while Dean Winstanley ended the hopes of Ireland's Glenn Spearing to win through and Northern Ireland's Daryl Gurney also progressed.

Andy Smith knocked out Welsh pair Barrie Bates and Gerwyn Price to qualify, while Jason Lovett denied form ace Andrew Gilding a spot in another European Tour event by progressing himself and Pete Dyos qualified at the expense of Kevin McDine and Michael Barnard.

Gibraltar Darts Trophy - European Tour Event Five
UK Qualifier
Friday May 23, K2 Centre, Crawley

Preliminary Round
Adam Hunt 6-5 Steve Maish
Andy Parsons 6-3 Steve Grubb
Nigel Heydon 6-3 Kevin Dowling
Kurt Parry 6-4 Mark Cox
Steve Douglas 6-4 Josh Payne
Alex Roy 6-4 Mark Jones
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Simon Burt
Jamie Bain 6-5 John Bowles
Jason Lovett 6-3 Darren Johnson
Ben Ward 6-4 Kevin Thomas
James Hubbard 6-2 Peter Hudson
Andy Jenkins 6-5 Michael Mansell
Brian Woods 6-2 Jim Walker
Keegan Brown 6-3 Mark Dudbridge
Connie Finnan 6-4 Dennis Smith

First Round
Wes Newton 6-4 Joe Murnan
Campbell Jackson 6-5 Andy Pearce
Kevin Painter 6-4 Jamie Robinson
Steve West 6-2 Jay Foreman
Michael Smith 6-1 Steve Brown
Mark Hylton 6-4 Kirk Shepherd
Paul Nicholson 6-1 Gary Stone
Johnny Haines 6-3 Ross Smith
Michael Barnard 6-2 Terry Jenkins
Pete Dyos 6-5 Kevin McDine
Ronnie Baxter 6-3 Steve Hine
Adam Hunt 6-3 Mick Todd
Matthew Edgar 6-0 Jamie Lewis
Andy Parsons 6-2 Chris Aubrey
James Wade 6-3 Mark Barilli
Kyle Anderson 6-4 Nigel Heydon
Darren Webster 6-3 David Pallett
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Kurt Parry
Dean Winstanley 6-2 Ian Moss
Glenn Spearing 6-5 Steve Douglas
Wayne Jones 6-3 Aden Kirk
Matt Clark 6-3 Alex Roy
Andy Smith 6-3 Barrie Bates
Gerwyn Price 6-3 Dan Russell
Richie Burnett 6-4 Scott Rand
Jamie Bain 6-1 Lee Moffatt
Andrew Gilding 6-2 Arron Monk
Jason Lovett 6-5 Colin Lloyd
William O'Connor 6-2 Stephen Bunting
Ben Ward 6-5 Ricky Evans
Matt Padgett 6-2 Stuart Kellett
James Hubbard 6-3 Colin Osborne
John Henderson 6-1 Stuart White
Andy Jenkins 6-3 Adrian Gray
Denis Ovens 6-4 John Part
James Richardson 6-2 Brian Woods
Mark Walsh 6-4 Richie Howson
Keegan Brown 6-5 Terry Temple
Mark Webster 6-4 Joe Cullen
Paul Amos 6-5 Connie Finnan

Second Round
Wes Newton 6-5 Campbell Jackson
Kevin Painter 6-2 Steve West
Michael Smith 6-1 Mark Hylton
Johnny Haines 6-3 Paul Nicholson
Pete Dyos 6-1 Michael Barnard
Adam Hunt 6-5 Ronnie Baxter
Andy Parsons 6-5 Matthew Edgar
James Wade 6-3 Kyle Anderson
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Darren Webster
Dean Winstanley 6-3 Glenn Spearing
Matt Clark 6-5 Wayne Jones
Andy Smith 6-2 Gerwyn Price
Richie Burnett 6-3 Jamie Bain
Jason Lovett 6-3 Andrew Gilding
Ben Ward 6-1 William O'Connor
James Hubbard 6-5 Matt Padett
John Henderson 6-5 Andy Jenkins
Denis Ovens 6-4 James Richardson
Mark Walsh 6-3 Keegan Brown
Mark Webster 6-3 Paul Amos

Wes Newton
Kevin Painter
Michael Smith
Johnny Haines
Pete Dyos
Adam Hunt
Andy Parsons
James Wade
Daryl Gurney
Dean Winstanley
Matt Clark
Andy Smith
Richie Burnett
Jason Lovett
Ben Ward
James Hubbard
John Henderson
Denis Ovens
Mark Walsh
Mark Webster