Monday, 31 March 2014

PDC Unicorn Youth Tour- 3

MIKE ZUYDWICK stormed to his first PDC Unicorn Youth Tour title thanks to a 4-0 victory over 2012 World Youth Champion James Hubbard, at the Rivermead Centre in Reading.
The Dutch 19-year-old started his road to glory by dropping just one leg in his opening two games against Terry Webb and Harry Ward before destroying Dan Dean with a whitewash 4-0 victory to secure a last 16 spot.

Zuydwick found Jake Patchett a much tougher opponent before overcoming the 19-year-old from Hull in a deciding leg to reach his second quarter-final on the Youth Tour.

The Dutch youngster returned to his dominating form of earlier in the day as he recorded 4-1 wins over Aden Kirk and Rowby-John Rodriguez before dismissing Hubbard with ease to claim the £1,000 first prize in brilliant style.

James Hubbard, who defeated Michael van Gerwen to become World Youth Champion at the O2 Arena in May 2012, progressed to the last 16 stage for the loss of just three legs following wins over Craig Simpson, Dan Green and Ryan Sullivan.

The Norfolk professional then defeated the strong Welsh duo of Nick Kenny and Kurt Parry to reach the last four where he saw off Reece Robinson in a deciding leg.

That put Hubbard through to his first Youth Tour Final since last July, but hopes of a third title at this level were quickly extinguished by Zudwijk, who wrapped up victory in quick time.

Austria’s Rowby-John Rodriguez reached the semi-finals of a Youth Tour event for a second time in a row following another strong performance on Saturday.

Rodriguez, who turned 20 two days ago, defeated Kevin Voornhout and Ben Oldroyd to reach the semi-finals before falling to Zuydwick, ending his hopes of a second PDC Unicorn Youth Tour title.

Reece Robinson ended a barren spell of results since reaching the final of a Challenge Tour event in September, with an excellent run to the last four.

The 21-year-old from Hull claimed a fine second round win over Ryan De Vreede and followed that victory’s over George Killington and Keegan Brown before narrowly losing his last four clash against James Hubbard in a deciding leg.

Huddersfield’s Ben Oldroyd enjoyed his best performance in the Youth Tour to date which included wins over John De Kruijf and Jack Tweddell before suffering a 4-0 loss to Rowby-John Rodriguez.

Aden Kirk, who enjoyed a fabulous run to the last 16 of the UK Open earlier this month, which featured brilliant wins over Phil Taylor and Peter Wright, produced a good run to the last eight on Saturday, before losing to the eventual winner, Zuydwijk.

PDC Tour Card holders Keegan Brown and Kurt Parry produced their best results of the year so far with strong runs to the quarter-finals on Saturday.

Sunday sees the PDC Unicorn Challenge Tour return to action at the Rivermead Centre in Reading, where the third event of 2014 will take place to round-off the weekend’s action.

PDC Unicorn Youth Tour Event Three
Saturday March 29, Rivermead Centre, Reading
First Round

Kurt Parry 4-0 Louis Turner
Tony Field 4-0 Paul Mitchell
Mike De Decker 4-0 Lee Budgen
Ben Songhurst 4-2 Charlie Symons
Adam Smith-Neale 4-0 Shaun Frowen
Jake Jones 4-0 William Longshaw
Luke Allen 4-3 Liam Johnson
Lewis Venes 4-3 Danny Roberts
Rick Pellow Bye
Ryan Sullivan 4-2 Ryan McCarthy
Dan Green 4-0 Callyn Wallis
James Hubbard 4-2 Craig Simpson
Dean Forde Bye
Nick Kenny 4-0 George Gardner
Joshua Richardson 4-2 Joe Twinn
Benito van de Pas 4-1 Bradley Halls
James Young 4-0 Charlie Burns
Matthew Dicken 4-2 Adam Bailey
Ryan De Vreede 4-3 Ryan Hoggarth
Reece Robinson 4-0 Harry Hamilton
Josh McCarthy 4-0 Callum Francis
Shaun Littler 4-0 Dan Cross
Dimitri Van Den Bergh 4-0 Jack Petcher
George Killington 4-1 Sean Johnson
Rainer Hofweber Bye
Tom Lonsdale 4-0 Dan Read
Aaron Holdstock 4-1 Kurtis Atkins
Josh Payne 4-1 Robbie Herbert
Andrew Clark Bye
Ross Dalton-Short 4-3 Logan Barnecut
Adam Hunt 4-2 Brandon Walsh
Keegan Brown 4-0 Liam Fairclough
Mike Zuydwijk 4-0 Terry Webb
Harry Ward 4-0 Blaine Jelly
Arron Fairweather 4-3 George Sherwood
Dan Dean 4-2 Ryan Rowe
Ryan Newton 4-2 James Wilkinson
Dirk van Duijvenbode 4-1 Tommy Lishman
Jake Patchett 4-1 Shane Friedlander
Kieran Watson 4-1 Ryan McDonald
Thomas Flint Bye
Krit Middleton 4-3 Connor Scutt
Rhys Hayden 4-0 Sam Head
Carl Draper 4-3 Bradley Coltman
Nathan Cross Bye
Aden Kirk 4-0 Chris Gower
John Esam 4-0 Samuel Fuller
Jordan Matthews 4-3 Liam Cooper
Christopher Hough 4-2 Jamie Britten
Kieran Bridgwater 4-0 Jordan Freestone
Jake Pennington 4-0 Liam Begbie
Rowby-John Rodriguez 4-2 Sam Hill
Kevin Voornhout 4-1 John Bryan
Leighton Jones 4-0 Reece Gould
Brandonn Monk 4-2 Tommy Wilson
Cain Unwin 4-1 Nicholas Day
John de Kruijf Bye
Sam Cankett 4-3 Nick Paenen
James Smith Bye Ted Evetts
Ben Oldroyd 4-1 Luke Wathen
Jack Tweddell Bye
Sam Hewson 4-1 Rees Hall
James Thompson 4-1 Shaun Michael Lovett
Ryan Jones 4-2 Connor Roach

Second Round
Kurt Parry 4-0 Tony Field
Mike De Decker 4-1 Ben Songhurst
Adam Smith-Neale 4-2 Jake Jones
Luke Allen 4-2 Lewis Venes
Ryan Sullivan 4-2 Rick Pellow
James Hubbard 4-0 Dan Green
Nick Kenny 4-2 Dean Forde
Benito van de Pas 4-1 Joshua Richardson
James Young 4-3 Matthew Dicken
Reece Robinson 4-2 Ryan De Vreede
Josh McCarthy 4-3 Shaun Littler
George Killington 4-2 Dimitri Van Den Bergh
Tom Lonsdale 4-0 Rainer Hofweber
Josh Payne 4-1 Aaron Holdstock
Andrew Clark 4-2 Ross Dalton-Short
Keegan Brown 4-1 Adam Hunt
Mike Zuydwijk 4-1 Harry Ward
Dan Dean 4-1 Arron Fairweather
Dirk van Duijvenbode 4-2 Ryan Newton
Jake Patchett 4-0 Kieran Watson
Krit Middleton 4-1 Thomas Flint
Rhys Hayden 4-0 Carl Draper
Aden Kirk 4-0 Nathan Cross
John Esam 4-2 Jason Matthews
Kieran Bridgwater 4-1 Christopher Hough
Rowby-John Rodriguez 4-0 Jake Pennington
Kevin Voornhout 4-1 Leighton Jones
Cain Unwin 4-2 Brandonn Monk
John de Kruijf 4-2 Sam Cankett
Ben Oldroyd 4-0 James Smith
Jack Tweddell 4-3 Sam Hewson
James Thompson 4-2 Ryan Jones
Losers £25

Third Round
Kurt Parry 4-3 Mike De Decker
Adam Smith-Neale 4-1 Luke Allen
James Hubbard 4-1 Ryan Sullivan
Nick Kenny 4-0 Benito van de Pas
Reece Robinson 4-1 James Young
George Killington 4-1 Josh McCarthy
Josh Payne 4-1 Tom Lonsdale
Keegan Brown 4-0 Andrew Clark
Mike Zuydwijk 4-0 Dan Dean
Jake Patchett 4-3 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Rhys Hayden 4-0 Krit Middleton
Aden Kirk 4-0 John Esam
Rowby-John Rodriguez 4-3 Kieran Bridgwater
Kevin Voornhout 4-0 Cain Unwin
Ben Oldroyd 4-2 John de Kruijf
Jack Tweddell 4-2 James Thompson
Losers £50

Fourth Round
Kurt Parry 4-2 Adam Smith-Neale
James Hubbard 4-2 Nick Kenny
Reece Robinson 4-2 George Killington
Keegan Brown 4-1 Josh Payne
Mike Zuydwijk 4-3 Jake Patchett
Aden Kirk 4-3 Rhys Hayden
Rowby-John Rodriguez 4-3 Kevin Voornhout
Ben Oldroyd 4-3 Jack Tweddell
Losers £100

James Hubbard 4-0 Kurt Parry
Reece Robinson 4-3 Keegan Brown
Mike Zuydwijk 4-1 Aden Kirk
Rowby-John Rodriguez 4-0 Ben Oldroyd
Losers £150

James Hubbard 4-3 Reece Robinson
Mike Zuydwijk 4-1 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Losers £250

Mike Zuydwijk 4-0 James Hubbard
Winner £1,000
Runner-Up £500