Saturday, 22 March 2014

PDC Euro Tour Event- 3

STEPHEN BUNTING qualified for his first European Tour event as he defeated James Wade to come through the German Darts Masters UK Qualifier on Friday night, and he was joined by Paul Nicholson, Ronnie Baxter, Andy Smith and Michael Smith in winning through to play in Berlin next month.
Lakeside Champion Bunting had joined the PDC after the UK Qualifier for the year's opening two European Tour events, but ensured that he will make his debut in Germany as one of the 20 UK Qualifiers from Friday's knockout in Crawley.

The St Helens ace, though, had to win through the hard way after edging out John Bowles 6-5 in his opener before repeating the scoreline against seven-time major champion Wade in their decider.

The result means that Wade agonisingly misses out in the UK Qualifier for a third successive event this year, with fellow major title winners John Part and Kevin Painter and Richie Burnett also being eliminated in Crawley.

Painter lost to Bolton's Joe Murnan in their decider while both Part and Burnett suffered whitewash defeats against Ross Smith and Alex Roy respectively.

Paul Nicholson followed up a whitewash of PDC newcomer Robert Owen with a 6-4 win over Martyn Turner as he qualified, while Ronnie Baxter was also a 6-0 winner as he saw off Ben Ward before winning 6-3 in his decider with Garry Spedding.

World Youth Champion Michael Smith picked up a pair of 6-2 wins as he saw off recent Coral UK Open star Aden Kirk and former UK Open finalist Colin Osborne to win through to the Easter event.

Alex Roy denied Steve Maish qualification for a third successive European Tour event with a 6-5 win in their opener, before defeating Kevin Thomas and Burnett to qualify.

Welsh ace Mark Webster produced a miraculous comeback as he edged out Joey Palfreyman to qualify, clawing his way back from 5-1 down to send their decider into an 11th leg, before taking out a 150 finish to win a Berlin place.

Dean Winstanley and Andrew Gilding continued their recent form by progressing to the main event, alongside Northern Ireland's Michael Mansell, Scotland's John Henderson and former World Championship finalist Kirk Shepherd.

Youngsters Jamie Lewis, Ross Smith and David Pallett also progressed, while Steve West's good start to the year continued with his qualification alongside debutant Steve Douglas.

Coventry's Steve Hine and Eccles ace Peter Hudson completed the field of 20 qualifiers, who are joined in the first round draw for the German Darts Masters by eight European Qualifiers and four Host Nation Qualifiers, who will secure their places on April 18 in Berlin.

German Darts Masters - European Tour Event Three
UK Qualifier
K2 Centre, Crawley, Friday February 21
First Round

Paul Nicholson (1) Bye
Robert Owen Bye
Gary Stone Bye
Martyn Turner 6-3 Daryl Gurney
Kevin Painter (2) Bye
Jason Lovett Bye
Joe Murnan Bye
Arron Monk 6-3 Matthew Dicken
Ronnie Baxter (3) Bye
Ben Ward Bye
Jamie Robinson Bye
Garry Spedding 6-1 Steven Mead
Andy Smith (4) Bye
Campbell Jackson Bye
Ian Moss Bye
Conan Whitehead 6-2 Ricky Evans
Michael Smith (5) Bye
Aden Kirk Bye
Colin Osborne Bye
Barrie Bates 6-3 William O’Connor
Stuart Kellett (6) Bye
Nick Fullwell Bye
Steven Pearson Bye
Peter Hudson 6-0 Matt Padgett
Jamie Lewis (7) Bye
Kyle Anderson Bye
Matthew Edgar Bye
Alan Tabern 6-0 Brandon Walsh
Richie Burnett (8) Bye
Stuart White Bye
Kevin Thomas Bye
Alex Roy 6-5 Steve Maish
John Part (9) Bye
Ross Smith Bye
Paul Amos Bye
Terry Temple 6-1 Josh Payne
Wayne Jones (10) Bye
Steve Randall Bye
Steve Douglas Bye
Brian Woods 6-3 Adrian Gray
James Wade (11) Bye
Jay Foreman Bye
Stephen Bunting Bye
John Bowles 6-5 James Richardson
Darren Webster (12) Bye
Jamie Bain Bye
Gerwyn Price Bye
Steve Hine 6-0 Mark Barilli
Dean Winstanley (13) Bye
Mark Cox Bye
Michael Barnard Bye
Matt Clark 6-5 Steve Grubb
Mark Walsh (14) Bye
Jim Walker Bye
Pete Dyos Bye
Steve West 6-4 Chris Aubrey
Mark Webster (15) Bye
Mark Jones Bye
Kevin Dowling Bye
Joey Palfreyman 6-5 Denis Ovens
Joe Cullen (16) Bye
David Pallett Bye
Darren Johnson Bye
Keegan Brown 6-1 Connie Finnan
Dennis Smith (17) Bye
Mick Todd Bye
Darren Whittingham Bye
Kirk Shepherd 6-5 Johnny Haines
John Henderson (18) Bye
Ryan Harrington Bye
Andy Jenkins Bye
Mark Dudbridge 6-4 Richie Howson
Andrew Gilding (19) Bye
Kevin McDine Bye
Glenn Spearing 6-4 Nigel Heydon
Jonathan Worsley 6-4 James Hubbard
Michael Mansell (20) Bye
Dan Russell Bye
Steve Brown 6-2 Marc Dewsbury
Andy Parsons 6-3 Kurt Parry

Second Round
Paul Nicholson 6-0 Robert Owen
Martyn Turner 6-4 Gary Stone
Kevin Painter 6-2 Jason Lovett
Joe Murnan 6-3 Arron Monk
Ronnie Baxter 6-0 Ben Ward
Garry Spedding 6-3 Jamie Robinson
Andy Smith 6-3 Campbell Jackson
Ian Moss 6-4 Conan Whitehead
Michael Smith 6-2 Aden Kirk
Colin Osborne 6-0 Barrie Bates
Stuart Kellett 6-4 Nick Fullwell
Peter Hudson 6-1 Steven Pearson
Jamie Lewis 6-5 Kyle Anderson
Alan Tabern 6-3 Matthew Edgar
Richie Burnett 6-3 Stuart White
Alex Roy 6-4 Kevin Thomas
Ross Smith 6-0 John Part
Terry Temple 6-5 Paul Amos
Wayne Jones 6-0 Steve Randall
Steve Douglas 6-2 Brian Woods
James Wade 6-3 Jay Foreman
Stephen Bunting 6-5 John Bowles
Jamie Bain 6-4 Darren Webster
Steve Hine 6-5 Gerwyn Price
Dean Winstanley 6-5 Mark Cox
Matt Clark 6-1 Michael Barnard
Mark Walsh 6-3 Jim Walker
Steve West 6-2 Pete Dyos
Mark Webster 6-3 Mark Jones
Joey Palfreyman 6-2 Kevin Dowling
David Pallett 6-2 Joe Cullen
Keegan Brown 6-3 Darren Johnson
Dennis Smith 6-2 Mick Todd
Kirk Shepherd 6-3 Darren Whittingham
John Henderson 6-4 Ryan Harrington
Mark Dudbridge 6-5 Andy Jenkins
Andrew Gilding 6-3 Kevin McDine
Glenn Spearing 6-5 Jonathan Worsley
Michael Mansell 6-4 Dan Russell
Steve Brown 6-3 Andy Parsons

Third Round
Paul Nicholson 6-4 Martyn Turner
Joe Murnan 6-2 Kevin Painter
Ronnie Baxter 6-3 Garry Spedding
Andy Smith 6-2 Ian Moss
Michael Smith 6-2 Colin Osborne
Peter Hudson 6-5 Stuart Kellett
Jamie Lewis 6-1 Alan Tabern
Alex Roy 6-0 Richie Burnett
Ross Smith 6-4 Terry Temple
Steve Douglas 6-4 Wayne Jones
Stephen Bunting 6-5 James Wade
Steve Hine 6-4 Jamie Bain
Dean Winstanley 6-2 Matt Clark
Steve West 6-5 Mark Walsh
Mark Webster 6-5 Joey Palfreyman
David Pallett 6-3 Keegan Brown
Kirk Shepherd 6-3 Dennis Smith
John Henderson 6-3 Mark Dudbridge
Andrew Gilding 6-3 Glenn Spearing
Michael Mansell 6-1 Steve Brown

Paul Nicholson
Joe Murnan
Ronnie Baxter
Andy Smith
Michael Smith
Peter Hudson
Jamie Lewis
Alex Roy
Ross Smith
Steve Douglas
Stephen Bunting
Steve Hine
Dean Winstanley
Steve West
Mark Webster
David Pallett
Kirk Shepherd
John Henderson
Andrew Gilding
Michael Mansell