Monday, 7 April 2014

PDC Youth Tour- 4

DIMITRI VAN DEN BERGH picked up victory in the fourth PDC Unicorn Youth Tour event of 2014, as he defeated Shaun Narain 4-2 in Saturday's final.
Van Den Bergh followed up last year's Unicorn Challenge Tour win - when he tasted success on his debut on the PDC circuit - by claiming the £1,000 first prize at Reading's Rivermead Centre in Saturday's tournament.

The 19-year-old from Antwerp put a last 16 defeat to Reece Robinson in the PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship - staged earlier in the day - behind him as he dropped only two legs in early victories over Daniel Lidgett and Conor Mayes.

He then defeated Samuel Fuller 4-2 before again dropping only one leg in victories over Mike Zuydwijk - last week's Event Three winner - Keegan Brown and Adam Smith-Neale to reach the final, where he saw off Narain 4-2.

Naran's run to the decider, which earned him £500 in prize money, was his best on the PDC's Development Tours so far, but matched his achievement in a North American ProTour event last year.

The 21-year-old from Calgary, the 2013 Canadian Open winner, had been a last 32 loser in the World Youth Championship, but matched Van Den Bergh's impressive response.

He opened Youth Tour Event Four with a whitewash of Austria's Fredi Gsellmann, defeated Ryan Hogarth and Rowby-John Rodriguez 4-2 and also saw off Matthew Dicken before edging out Shaun Lovett 4-3 in the quarter-finals.

He then overcame Welsh-born Dean Reynolds 4-2 in the semi-finals, but had to settle for the runner-up prize as Van Den Bergh proved too strong.

Reynolds and Smith-Neale took home £250 after reaching the last four, while Keegan Brown followed up his achievement in qualifying for the World Youth Championship final by joining Lovett, George Killington and George Gardner in the quarter-finals.

The Dutch quartet of Zuydwijk, Benito van de Pas, John De Kruijf and Jeffrey De Zwaan were joined in the last 16 by Matthew Dicken, Lee Whitworth, Jake Patchett and Indian newcomer Amit Gilitwala.

PDC Unicorn Youth Tour Event Four
Saturday April 6
Preliminary Round

Shaun Lovett 4-3 Andrew Clark
Arron Fairweather 4-2 Ryan Hoggarth
Jack Neary 4-0 Terry Webb
Ryan Newton 4-1 Joe Twinn

First Round
Max Hopp 4-0 Patrik Kovacs
Adam Hunt 4-0 Jordan Patterson
Tom Anderson 4-1 Ryan Sullivan
Shaun Lovett 4-1 Sam Hill
Ben Oldroyd 4-2 John Bryan
Josh Payne 4-3 Sean Ryan
Amit Gilitwala 4-1 Bradley Coltman
James Smith 4-1 Harry West
Matthew Dicken 4-0 Rees Hall
Tony Field 4-1 Aaron Knox
Reece Robinson 4-2 Dan Dean
Dean Finn 4-2 James Young
Ryan Hogarth 4-0 Joe Young
Shaun Narain 4-0 Fredi Gsellmann
Rowby-John Rodriguez 4-3 Luke Allen
James Thompson 4-0 Jack Petcher
Ryan De Vreede 4-1 Callum Francis
Dan Lauby II 4-0 Chris Gower
Nicholas Day 4-3 Carl Draper
Dean Reynolds 4-0 Arron Fairweather
Blaine Jelly 4-3 Harry Hamilton
Jake Jones 4-2 Krit Middleton
Benito van de Pas 4-1 John Seagrave
Aaron Baber 4-3 James Wilson
Joshua Richardson 4-2 Kieran Bridgwater
Ross Dalton-Short 4-2 Dan Cross
George Killington 4-3 Dan Green
Ted Evetts 4-0 Martin Walker
John De Kruijf 4-2 Adam Bailey
Ross Twell 4-3 Thomas Flint
Kurt Parry 4-1 Liam Fairclough
Connor Roach 4-2 Vincenzo Masciarelli
Dirk van Duijvenbode 4-1 Craig Simpson
Brandon Walsh 4-1 Ben Songhurst
Mike Zuydwijk 4-0 Michael Artiss
Jack Neary 4-1 Keirion Williams
Dimitri Van Den Bergh 4-1 Daniel Lidgett
Conor Mayes 4-0 Robbie Herbert
Robbie King 4-0 Harry Ward
Samuel Fuller 4-1 Aden Kirk
Liam Gallagher 4-1 Anthony West
Lee Whitworth 4-2 Kevin Voornhout
Ryan Jones 4-1 Charlie Symons
Kurtis Atkins 4-3 Tommy Wilson
Jack Tweddell 4-1 Rainer Hofweber
Tyson Hoefel 4-1 Cain Unwin
Keegan Brown 4-1 Brandonn Monk
John Esam 4-3 Rhys Hayden
Adam Smith-Neale 4-1 Liam Johnson
Andrew Ryan 4-1 Danny Roberts
Dominic Buckley 4-0 George Parker
Ryan Newton 4-3 Sion Thomas
Martin Schindler 4-1 Tom Sykes
Jake Patchett 4-2 Spencer Murphy
Matt Smith 4-2 Shaun Littler
Sam Head 4-0 Charlie Burns
Lewis Venes 4-0 Paddy Meaney
Liam Cooper 4-3 Curtis Turner
Jeffrey De Zwaan 4-1 Connor Scutt
James Hubbard 4-0 Nathan Cross
Justin Webers 4-3 Bradley Halls
George Gardner 4-0 Dan Read
Stephen Lennon 4-2 Jimmy Hendriks
Sean Johnson 4-2 Jamie Britten

Second Round
Max Hopp 4-3 Adam Hunt
Shaun Lovett 4-1 Tom Anderson
Ben Oldroyd 4-3 Josh Payne
Amit Gilitwala 4-2 James Smith
Matthew Dicken 4-2 Tony Field
Dean Finn 4-3 Reece Robinson
Shaun Narain 4-2 Ryan Hogarth
Rowby-John Rodriguez 4-0 James Thompson
Ryan De Vreede 4-1 Dan Lauby II
Dean Reynolds 4-1 Nicholas Day
Jake Jones 4-2 Blaine Jelly
Benito van de Pas 4-1 Aaron Baber
Joshua Richardson 4-1 Ross Dalton-Short
George Killington 4-3 Ted Evetts
John De Kruijf 4-2 Ross Twell
Kurt Parry 4-1 Connor Roach
Dirk van Duijvenbode 4-3 Brandon Walsh
Mike Zuydwijk 4-0 Jack Neary
Dimitri Van Den Bergh 4-1 Conor Mayes
Samuel Fuller 4-2 Robbie King
Lee Whitworth 4-1 Liam Gallagher
Ryan Jones 4-2 Kurtis Atkins
Jack Tweddell 4-1 Tyson Hoefel
Keegan Brown 4-3 John Esam
Adam Smith-Neale 4-0 Andrew Ryan
Ryan Newton 4-0 Dominic Buckley
Jake Patchett 4-1 Martin Schindler
Sam Head 4-1 Matt Smith
Liam Cooper 4-0 Lewis Venes
Jeffrey De Zwaan 4-2 James Hubbard
George Gardner 4-3 Justin Webers
Stephen Lennon 4-0 Sean Johnson
Losers £25

Third Round
Shaun Lovett 4 -3 Max Hopp
Amit Gilitwala 4 -1 Ben Oldroyd
Matthew Dicken 4-1 Dean Finn
Shaun Narain 4-2 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Dean Reynolds 4-2 Ryan De Vreede
Benito van de Pas 4-1 Jake Jones
George Killington 4 -3 Joshua Richardsob
John De Kruijf 4-3 Kurt Parry
Mike Zuydwijk 4-3 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Dimitri Van Den Bergh 4-2 Samuel Fuller
Lee Whitworth 4-3 Ryan Jones
Keegan Brown 4-1 Jack Tweddell
Adam Smith-Neale 4-1 Ryan Newton
Jake Patchett 4-3 Sam Head
Jeffrey De Zwaan 4-1 Liam Cooper
George Gardner 4-0 Stephen Lennon
Losers £50

Fourth Round
Shaun Lovett 4-1 Amit Gilitwala
Shaun Narain 4-1 Matthew Dicken
Dean Reynolds 4-2 Benito van de Pas
George Killington 4-3 John De Kruijf
Dimitri Van Den Bergh 4-1 Mike Zuydwijk
Keegan Brown 4-1 Lee Whitworth
Adam Smith-Neale 4-2 Jake Patchett
George Gardner 4-3 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Losers £100

Shaun Narain 4-3 Shaun Lovett
Dean Reynolds 4-2 George Killington
Dimitri Van Den Bergh 4-1 Keegan Brown
Adam Smith-Neale 4 -0 George Gardner
Losers £150

Shaun Narain 4-2 Dean Reynolds
Dimitri Van Den Bergh 4-1 Adam Smith Neale
Losers £250

Dimitri Van Den Bergh 4-2 Shaun Narain
Winner £1,000
Runner-Up £500