Monday, 2 December 2013

PDC World Championship Draw

BROTHERS Kim and Ronny Huybrechts will meet in the first round of the Ladbrokes World Darts Championship, while reigning champion Phil Taylor has drawn either New Zealand's Rob Szabo or qualifier Ian Moss as he begins the defence of his title at Alexandra Palace.
The Belgian duo will meet for a third time in a PDC competition when the £1 million Ladbrokes World Championship kicks off later this month, after being paired in Monday's first round draw.

Elder brother Ronny took victory earlier this year in a PDC ProTour semi-final, while Kim gained revenge as he reached the Grand Slam of Darts quarter-finals last month in Wolverhampton.

Reigning and 16-time World Champion Phil Taylor will begin his bid to retain the title when he plays the winner of a preliminary round clash between New Zealand National Champion Rob Szabo and English debutant Ian Moss, the PDPA Qualifier runner-up last week.

Dutch ace and number two seed Michael van Gerwen, the runner-up 12 months ago who has won the Premier League and Players Championship Finals titles this year, will also play a preliminary round winner as he faces either Austria's Zoran Lerchbacher or PDC Unicorn Challenge Tour Order of Merit runner-up Ben Ward.

Adrian Lewis, the two-time World Champion in 2011 and 2012, plays experienced Dennis Smith, while fellow former champions Raymond van Barneveld drew Welshman Jamie Lewis and John Part takes on Holland's Mareno Michels.

Number four seed Simon Whitlock, the 2010 finalist, takes on Challenge Tour winner Ross Smith, 2012 runner-up Andy Hamilton takes on either Spanish debutant Julio Barbero or Germany's Andree Welge, and three-time semi-finalist James Wade, seeded sixth, is draw with Norfolk's Darren Webster.

October's World Grand Prix runner-up Dave Chisnall takes on Scotland's John Henderson, number eight seed Wes Newton has drawn either Holland's Gino Vos or Hong Kong's Ting Chi Royden Lam and Robert Thornton plays German teenager Max Hopp.

Justin Pipe, who is seeded 11th, will meet former World Youth Champion Arron Monk, 2004 finalist Kevin Painter is drawn with Germany's Tomas Seyler, Mervyn King takes on top American left-hander Darin Young and Brendan Dolan faces either Danish qualifier Dennis Lindskjold or Philippines champion Edward Santos.

Peter Wright, whose progress this year has seen him move up to 16th in the world, has draw Joe Cullen, while Terry Jenkins will meet either Northern Ireland's Colin McGarry or Denmark's Per Laursen.

Two former finalists will clash as 2011 runner-up Gary Anderson takes on 2005 finalist Mark Dudbridge, who has returned from shoulder and elbow surgery 12 months ago to ensure a World Championship return.

Ronnie Baxter meets World Youth Championship runner-up Ricky Evans, Paul Nicholson drew Stuart Kellett and Ian White plays Kyle Anderson - the Australian number one whose brother Beau, the Oceanic Masters winner, will take on Colin Lloyd.

Steve Beaton will meet the winner of the preliminary round tie between South African ace Devon Petersen or Malaysia's Mohammed Latif Sapup, with Jamie Caven drawing Jelle Klaasen and Mark Webster up against top Austrian Mensur Suljovic.

Andy Smith takes on Bristol's Steve Brown, Richie Burnett takes on Dean Winstanley, who hit a nine-darter last year, Mark Walsh plays Finland's Jarkko Komula, Vincent van der Voort meets PDPA Qualifier winner Matt Clark and Wayne Jones takes on Kevin McDine.

World Youth Champion Michael Smith, the number 32 seed, completes the draw as he faces either Japanese number one Morihiro Hashimoto or Singapore's veteran thrower Paul Lim, who is appearing in his 20th World Championship.

The Ladbrokes World Darts Championship will be held from December 13 2013-January 1 2014 at Alexandra Palace in London, featuring 72 players from around the world and a record first prize of £250,000 from over £1 million in prize money.

Coverage is live on Sky Sports HD throughout the event, with the semi-finals and final being shown in 3D.

Ladbrokes World Championship
First Round Draw Bracket
1 Phil Taylor V Rob Szabo/Ian Moss
32 Michael Smith V Morihiro Hashimoto/Paul Lim
16 Peter Wright V Joe Cullen
17 Terry Jenkins V Colin McGarry/Per Laursen
8 Wes Newton V Gino Vos/Ting Chi Royden Lam
25 John Part V Mareno Michels
9 Robert Thornton V Max Hopp
24 Colin Lloyd V Beau Anderson
5 Andy Hamilton V Julio Barbero/Andree Welge
28 Richie Burnett V Dean Winstanley
12 Kim Huybrechts V Ronny Huybrechts
21 Ian White V Kyle Anderson
4 Simon Whitlock V Ross Smith
29 Mark Walsh V Jarkko Komula
13 Kevin Painter V Tomas Seyler
20 Paul Nicholson V Stuart Kellett
2 Michael van Gerwen V Zoran Lerchbacher/Ben Ward
31 Wayne Jones V Kevin McDine
15 Brendan Dolan V Dennis Lindskjold/Edward Santos
18 Gary Anderson V Mark Dudbridge
7 Dave Chisnall V John Henderson
26 Mark Webster V Mensur Suljovic
10 Raymond van Barneveld V Jamie Lewis
23 Jamie Caven V Jelle Klaasen
6 James Wade V Darren Webster
27 Andy Smith V Steve Brown
11 Justin Pipe V Arron Monk
22 Steve Beaton V Devon Petersen/Mohammed Latif Sapup
3 Adrian Lewis V Dennis Smith
30 Vincent van der Voort V Matt Clark
14 Mervyn King V Darin Young
19 Ronnie Baxter V Ricky Evans

As It Happened...
Michael Smith v Hashimoto/Lim
Justin Pipe v Arron Monk
Adrian Lewis v Dennis Smith
Mark Webster v Mensur Suljovic
Paul Nicholson v Stuart Kellett
Richie Burnett v Dean Winstanley
Ronnie Baxter v Ricky Evans
Ian White v Kyle Anderson
Colin Lloyd v Beau Anderson
Kim Huybrechts v Ronny Huybrechts
Peter Wright v Joe Cullen
Andy Hamilton v Barbero/Welge
Robert Thornton v Max Hopp
Jamie Caven v Jelle Klaasen
Steve Beaton v Petersen/Sapup
Wayne Jones v Kevin McDine
Gary Anderson v Mark Dudbridge
Kevin Painter v Tomas Seyler
Mark Walsh v Jarkko Komula
John Part v Mareno Michels
Brendan Dolan v Lindskjold/Santos
Raymond van Barneveld v Jamie Lewis
Mervyn King v Darin Young
Vincent van der Voort v Matt Clark
Wes Newton v Vos/Lam
Phil Taylor v Szabo/Moss
Andy Smith v Steve Brown
Simon Whitlock v Ross Smith
Dave Chisnall v John Henderson
James Wade v Darren Webster
Michael van Gerwen v Lerchbacher/Ward
Terry Jenkins v McGarry/Laursen

1 Phil Taylor
2 Michael van Gerwen
3 Adrian Lewis
4 Simon Whitlock
5 Andy Hamilton
6 James Wade
7 Dave Chisnall
8 Wes Newton
9 Robert Thornton
10 Raymond van Barneveld
11 Justin Pipe
12 Kim Huybrechts
13 Kevin Painter
14 Mervyn King
15 Brendan Dolan
16 Peter Wright
17 Terry Jenkins
18 Gary Anderson
19 Ronnie Baxter
20 Paul Nicholson
21 Ian White
22 Steve Beaton
23 Jamie Caven
24 Colin Lloyd
25 John Part
26 Mark Webster
27 Andy Smith
28 Richie Burnett
29 Mark Walsh
30 Vincent van der Voort
31 Wayne Jones
32 Michael Smith

33 Stuart Kellett
34 Jelle Klaasen
35 Jamie Lewis
36 Darren Webster
37 Ronny Huybrechts
38 Joe Cullen
39 Arron Monk
40 Mensur Suljovic
41 John Henderson
42 Dennis Smith
43 Ricky Evans
44 Kevin McDine
45 Dean Winstanley
46 Ross Smith
47 Mark Dudbridge
48 Steve Brown
49 Max Hopp
50 Mareno Michels
51 Jarkko Komula
52 Tomas Seyler
53 Kyle Anderson
54 Beau Anderson
55 Darin Young
56 Matt Clark
57 Rob Szabo (New Zealand) or Ian Moss (England)
58 Devon Petersen (S Africa) or Mohammed Latif Sapup (Malaysia)
59 Gino Vos (Netherlands) or Ting Chi Royden Lam (Hong Kong)
60 Zoran Lerchbacher (Austria) or Ben Ward (England)
61 Dennis Lindskjold (Denmark) or Edward Santos (Philippines)
62 Morihiro Hashimoto (Japan) or Paul Lim (Singapore)
63 Colin McGarry (Northern Ireland) or Per Laursen (Denmark)
64 Julio Barbero (Spain) or Andree Welge (Germany)

The Ladbrokes World Darts Championship will be held from December 13 2013-January 1 2014 at Alexandra Palace in London, featuring 72 players from around the world and a record first prize of £250,000 from over £1 million in prize money.