Monday, 28 October 2013

PDC Dutch Darts Masters- Day 3

REIGNING Dutch Darts Masters champion Simon Whitlock remains on course to retain the European Tour title in Veldhoven after winning through to the quarter-finals on Sunday afternoon, alongside Dutch favourite Michael van Gerwen and in-form stars Peter Wright and Kim Huybrechts.
Australian ace Whitlock overcame Andy Hamilton 6-2 with a strong performance as he set up a quarter-final on Sunday night with Jamie Caven, as the remaining eight players compete to take the £20,000 first prize.

The Australian took out 120 and also had six perfect darts of a possible nine-darter as he moved into a 4-1 lead against Hamilton, who took out 72 to reply but was unable to prevent Whitlock's progression to the last eight.

Caven secured his place in the last eight with a 6-4 victory over Swindon's Mark Cox in the third round, while world number two van Gerwen swept aside Michael Barnard with a 6-1 triumph.

The Dutch favourite will now play Wes Newton in the quarter-finals, after the Fleetwood ace hit a third successive ton-plus average of the event in his 6-4 win over Mervyn King.

The in-form duo of Belgium's Kim Huybrechts and Scottish ace Peter Wright were also 6-4 winners, against Michael Mansell and Ronnie Baxter respectively, as they set up a tantalising quarter-final clash.

Finland's Jarkko Komula secured himself both a quarter-final place - his first-ever on the PDC ProTour - and a qualifying place in the Ladbrokes World Darts Championship with a fine 6-4 victory against world number five James Wade.

Komula now plays Brendan Dolan, who progressed to the last eight with a 6-2 victory over youngster David Pallett.

Dutch Darts Masters - European Tour Event Eight
October 25-27, NH Hotel Koningshof
Sunday October 27

Third Round
Afternoon Session

Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Michael Barnard
Wes Newton 6-4 Mervyn King
Michael Mansell 4-6 Kim Huybrechts
Peter Wright 6-4 Ronnie Baxter
David Pallett 2-6 Brendan Dolan
James Wade 4-6 Jarkko Komula
Jamie Caven 6-4 Mark Cox
Simon Whitlock 6-2 Andy Hamilton

KIM HUYBRECHTS won the biggest title of his career as he claimed the £20,000 first prize in the Dutch Darts Masters with a 6-3 victory over Brendan Dolan in Sunday's final at the NH Hotel Koningshof.
The Belgian star followed up last week's victory in the John McEvoy Gold Dart Classic Players Championship in Killarney by claiming his third ranking title with a brilliant display in Holland.

Huybrechts - who also reached the Championship League Darts Winners Group this week - had won through to Sunday's final stages with wins over Dean Winstanley and Wayne Jones, before defeating Michael Mansell 6-4 in the third round.

He then edged past Peter Wright 6-5 in the quarter-finals and was brilliant in defeating Michael van Gerwen, the number one seed and local favourite, with a 6-3 victory in the semi-finals.

Huybrechts, though, saved his best display for the final as he recorded the same scoreline against Dolan, averaging 105.90 and hitting a series of key 180s as he picked up the win.

Dolan gave as good as he got, sharing the first two four legs of the final before breaking throw in the fifth on double 16 to lead 3-2.

Huybrechts, though, broke back immediately on double 18, after his opponent missed the same double, and he then hit 180s in the next two legs to leave 44 and 47 as he hit a brace of double 16s to lead 5-3.

He then opened the ninth leg with a fourth maximum of the game, and hit double 16 once more as he claimed the victory, dropping to his knees as he celebrated an emotional victory.

Huybrechts dedicated the title to the memory of his father, who had passed away last December but remained in the 27-year-old's thoughts throughout Sunday's final stages.

Antwerp-based Huybrechts also had plenty of support in the Veldhoven crowd, and added: "It's only 40 minutes for me so it's like a home event, so to win the tournament is perfect."

Dolan had seen off youngster David Pallett, Finland's Jarkko Komula and reigning champion Simon Whitlock in Sunday's final stages, and admitted: "I'm not too disappointed to lose.


Whitlock had lifted the title 12 months ago in Nuland, but came up short in the semi-finals this time around as he went down 6-3 to Dolan, having won his quarter-final with Jamie Caven by the same scoreline earlier in the evening.

World number two van Gerwen also missed out in the last four as he sought a third European Tour win of the year, being knocked out 6-3 by Huybrechts after he had won a high-quality quarter-final with Newton in the same manner.

Finland's Komula's run to the quarter-finals, which included a memorable win over world number five James Wade in Sunday afternoon's third round, will see him qualify for the Ladbrokes World Darts Championship as he picked up £3,000 prize money.

In-form Peter Wright also won through to the last eight, but was denied in a deciding leg by Huybrechts as the Belgian marched into the final.

Runs to the last 16 for Pallett, Mansell, Swindon's Mark Cox and Essex thrower Michael Barnard aided their challenges to qualify for the World Championship through the ProTour Order of Merit, and they were joined in the third round by top 16 stars Mervyn King and Andy Hamilton.

Dutch Darts Masters - European Tour Event Eight
October 25-27, NH Hotel Koningshof
Sunday October 27

Evening Session
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Wes Newton
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Peter Wright
Brendan Dolan 6-1 Jarkko Komula
Jamie Caven 3-6 Simon Whitlock

Michael van Gerwen 3-6 Kim Huybrechts
Brendan Dolan 6-3 Simon Whitlock

Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Brendan Dolan